Fifth anniversary

Clement confirmed as Piratepartei president

Photo: Serge Waldbillig

(CS/str) Sven Clement will continue steering the Pirate Party, after he was confirmed as president in a landslide majority of 93.3 percent on Sunday.

The Pirate Party gathered for a congress on Sunday, with two candidates up for election for the presidency – a first for the Luxembourg party, which also celebrates its five year anniversary this year.

However, Jeff Cigrand's attempt to take over from Clement, who also co-founded the party, was unsuccessful.

Clement was re-elect with 93.3 percent of the vote. Marc Goergen meanwhile was re-elected as vice-president, while Andy Maar will continue in the post of secretary general.

New among the senior party members is Ben Allard, who will take over as treasurer.

Other new deputy members include Carlo Di Giambattista, René Schmit and Philippe Backes.